10-Time Cape Cod Baseball League Champions

Cape Cod Baseball League

The Cape Cod Baseball League is the premier amateur summer baseball league in the United States and has roots going back to 1885.  In the beginning, teams from different parts of the Cape squared off in games held at agricultural fairs and other town events. In the early 20th century, the first versions of league teams were populated mostly by GIs returning from World War I in 1919 and World War II in the mid-1940’s. In the decades that followed, team rosters began to shift toward local and regional college players, and in 1963, the Cape Cod Baseball League became officially sanctioned by the NCAA. In 1985, following a decade of using aluminum bats, the Cape League became the first collegiate summer league to return to the exclusive use of wooden bats which allowed the top players in the country to show their skills in a setting that more closely resembled major league baseball games.  As a result, the Cape Cod Baseball League continued to enhance its reputation and became even more popular with major league scouts, major league teams and college players and coaches nationwide.

The League Attracts the Top Baseball Prospects in America

Top baseball prospects from across America and representing every collegiate division are recruited to play in a ten-week summer season. The League is divided into two divisions, with East Division teams representing the towns of Brewster, Chatham, Harwich, Orleans and Yarmouth-Dennis and West Division teams representing Bourne, Chatham, Cotuit, Falmouth, Hyannis and Wareham. 

Cape League Alumni in MLB

In addition to being an annual Cape Cod tradition, the League produces some of the brightest stars in Major League Baseball.  Approximately one-third of 2019 Major League players were Cape Cod Baseball League alumni, including Boston Red Sox’s Chris Sale (Yarmouth-Dennis 2009), Chicago Cub’s Kris Bryant (Chatham 2011), New York Yankees’ Aaron Judge (Brewster 2012), San Francisco Giant’s Buster Posey (Yarmouth-Dennis 2006-2007) and Evan Longoria (Chatham 2005), Minnesota Twins’ Josh Donaldson (Harwich 2006) and Los Angeles Dodgers’ Justin Turner (Yarmouth-Dennis 2005) and Walker Buehler (Yarmouth-Dennis 2014).

This June, the Cape League embarks on its 135th season, featuring a 40-game regular-season schedule and an action-packed postseason made up of best-of-three quarterfinal, semifinal and League Championship series. Among the highlights will be the 2020 Cape League All-Star game on Saturday, July 25 at Spillane Field, in Wareham.

We would like to Thank our Sponsors!